Flights of Fancy

My health has its ups and downs, but my mind is usually given over to dreaming, even when I can’t muster up the energy to write.

I daydream about aliens attacking the Earth, and humanity rising to fight as one. I see giant ships floating through the skies on curtains of light. I have visions of Hollywood movies, playing out the stories I have spun.

For what is our imagination, if not to be used for strange and wondrous things? Why not bend it to dream of glory for ourselves? It is a great and sometimes strange gift, to conjure the world as it can never be or may never be. The depths of an imagination, properly cultivated, is a truly fantastic power.

The cold that is currently assaulting my sinuses will not stop me dreaming… even if my nose drips like a leaking tap.

//shay

Leave a Reply

