Change isn’t always good

I didn’t post yesterday. I feel so guilty. I had been doing so well too!

But change isn’t always better, my friends. A change in my diet has proven to be a disaster. I made the mistake of trying a low carb diet, and although it could probably help me lose weight, it has side-effects, in my case, that make it impossible.

I don’t mind cutting out carbohydrates. There was a lot I didn’t eat anyway. If there were going to be side-effects, there was no way to know how my body would react unless I tried it. And it reacted with three days of crippling insomnia.

There is a biochemical reaction where carbohydrates are used to convert the amino-acid tryptophan into serotonin (if I understand it correctly).  A low carb diet that you don’t ease into, like I did, obviously caused this to slow down, and I could not feel drowsy or fall asleep.

This is not to say that this happens to everyone on a low carb diet. Apparently you can slowly adjust… in a couple of weeks.

I feel so sick today. My hands shake, my balance is shot, and I’m ravenously hungry and nauseous at the same time. I should not have done this to myself.

//shay

Leave a Reply

