A Friend in Need

I don’t know if you’re aware how terrifying it is to have a friend tell you that they’re suicidal.

I heard as such from a friend today. I’m so afraid for them. It leaves me floundering, searching for words to beg them not to think like that. I don’t want to lose them.

I think–I hope–that my most beloved and esteemed friend is okay. I dropped everything, even work, because they were hurting and needed someone to talk to immediately. I should be thankful that they are at that point, of talking, and not of possibly ending their life without ever having spoken to someone close to them. But I am still afraid.

I cherish my friends.

If you’re out there, and you feel like you don’t want to go on, I want you to know that I cherish you too. The world is a harsh place, sometimes, but for all its pain it’s still a wonderful and fascinating place. Please stay a while longer. Please talk to someone.

Please forgive me for not knowing the right words.

I wrote 1014 words today. I’ll write more tomorrow, just for you.

//shay

Leave a Reply

