Maybe I should

…write a blog post every day for NaNoWriMo, if I can’t write as much as I want.

No one’s expecting much from a blog post. The mental transaction involved is pretty minimal. I don’t need to produce the next great American novel, though how awesome would that be?

You know how I never talk about publishing stuff? I just assume that you, esteemed friends, have an idea of fun similar to normal people in that you don’t find industry news interesting. Kind of how you might enjoy sausages, but you don’t want to know the average profit and loss of the pork industry.

Anyway, publishing. Apparently Random House and Penguin are planning to merge. If you don’t know these guys, they’re huuuuge publishers, and their combined forces equals about 20% of the entire English market for books.

I’m a self-publisher all the way, of course, so I have no skin in the game really, but this… if I ever had a reason to not want to sell a book to either of these companies, it’s twice as big now. How does a large megacorporation have my best interests, as an author, at heart? What can they do for me, other than control me?

Not for me. And now I’m scared for other authors too. So here’s a word to the wise, my dear friends – sell to Random Penguin by all means, but if you want a career that’s yours, it’s time to go indie.

//shay

2 thoughts on “Maybe I should

Leave a Reply

