I’m baffled

What in all the nine circles of hell is going on with all the Texas romance books?

It’s not even about cowboys. If it were cowboys, it’d be just as likely to be Wyoming instead of Texas. So tell me, dear friend – what’s so sexy about Texas, of all places?

Is it those hats? Please say it’s not the hats. You know the ones I’m talking about – the ones that guys wear when they’re pretending to be in a western or something. Or is it the boots? I can just about wrap my head around the idea of cowboy boots being sexy, because boot fetishes are a thing in the real world, but you have lost me on the hats.

The only explanation I have is that Texas has a higher than average number of housewives with a thing for musclebound dudes with drawling accents. I will admit that this isn’t a great theory, and there are other explanations, but anything else I can think of is either ridiculous or borderline insulting to Texans. (Much as I’m happy to speak my mind here, I don’t want to be mean just because I can.)

This could be another market trend that is forever out of my reach. I guess I could attempt to write a story set in Texas, but that would probably be as effective as me writing a story set in Iceland. I just don’t know enough to fake it and it’d probably be obvious to a native.

//shay

Leave a Reply

