So I picked up this ebook

It’s called ‘Maid for the Billionaire’. Supposedly it’s got some good sexytimes in it, which I am totally down for. I’m about a quarter of the way into it so far.

I don’t know if I can finish it.

It is – how do I put this? – heavily straining my suspension of disbelief. HEAVILY. It starts with the two main characters meeting and instantly wanting to screw each other into the floor. And the dude is… kinda creepy, again, in an Edward-esque way. He just tells the woman that she’s doing this or that, and pretty much manipulates her into doing what he wants when she pushes back. But that’s totally okay because he’s a nice guy in spite of all indications to the contrary!

To that I say: Bull-shit.

…I’m never going to be able to write stuff like this. I just can’t. I can’t write something where one of the main characters acts like an arrogant asshole, and it’s supposed to be okay because he’s hot or they’re attracted to each other or he’s rich or you find out, from other characters, that he’s done some good deeds. Just – no. Cannot make brain work that way.

Guys, I am never going to be a bestseller if this is what it takes. I’m gonna just sit here in the corner for a while, weeping over my beer for the state of the world.

Can you do me a favor and tell the barkeep to start a tab for me?

//shay

Leave a Reply

